Are Potatoes Gluten Free

The answer is Yes! This is good news for people sensitive to gluten; you can still add potatoes to your meal. Gluten is generally found in rye, wheat, barley, and other grains. Potatoes can be used as a substitute for gluten-containing foods.

The truth is that potatoes are starchy vegetables; they are not grains. Hence, they are gluten-free in their “natural form.” Just make sure to leave everything that is off-limits to potatoes. 

Also, people suffering from celiac disease (an autoimmune digestive disease affecting the small intestine to absorb nutrients from the food), can also consume potatoes with special dietary needs. 

This article covers topics like do potatoes have gluten, how to keep potatoes gluten-free, and when potatoes are not gluten-free. Let's get started.

What Is Gluten?

A protein called “Gluten” is usually found in rye, barley, wheat, and other grains, which helps preserve its shape and form to produce many types of dough with its stretchy texture. 

Check the ingredient lists of products like wheat and barley and if the product is gluten. Items like bread, baked goods, certain sauces and dressings, pasta, cereals, and canned soups contain wheat. Many whole grains also include wheat, like wheat berries, farina, farro, semolina, kamut, and einkorn. 

Furthermore, brewer's yeast, beer, and food coloring contain barley. Cereals, bread, and beer include rye. A more recent grain, “Triticale,” is often present in pasta, cereals, and bread.

Though gluten also holds some negative points, no study stated it harms health. The fact is eating gluten-containing whole grains can cause lower cardiovascular disease risk.

However, an autoimmune condition like celiac disease can injure small intestines when consuming gluten. So, it is advisable to eat potatoes gluten-free diet for celiac disease people. 

Are Potatoes Gluten-Free?

If there is still a question, is there gluten in potatoes, then you will get a deeper understanding. Yes, potatoes in their natural or raw form are gluten-free. If they are extracted from the ground and in raw form, they do not possess gluten like wheat, barley, etc. 

Processed food containing potatoes may have gluten ingredients. For instance, a box of mashed potatoes with thickened flour will contain gluten.

Some frozen potato items containing sauces or seasonings contain gluten. However, many potato chips only include potatoes, salt, and oil and are gluten-free. 

To make sure which product includes gluten, read the ingredients label for barley, wheat, rye, or triticale. If these items are missing, the product is gluten-free. Even the cooking method also decides whether potatoes contain wheat or gluten in any other form. 

How To Keep Potatoes Gluten-Free?

Natural potatoes are gluten-free, but many potato recipes may contain gluten. Here are some tips to keep your potato dishes gluten-free: 


Generally, gravy is made up of flour, making it a gluten-containing product. So do not mix gravy with mashed potatoes. You can make your gluten-free options or get it from the store. 

Fried and baked potatoes

Avoid outside potatoes with butter or oil. The restaurant utensils may not be washed after baking the gluten-containing foods like battered chicken or onion rings. Also, avoid french fries. Instead, consider baked plain potatoes.

Potato bread

Before buying the potato bread, check out the package for the nutrition label to be safe from your side. 

Potato chips

Avoid the potato chips from the market. Consider making your own. They may contain malt vinegar or wheat starch. 

Instant mashed potatoes

Remember to check the ingredients label before buying instant mashed potatoes. They may include gluten ingredients.

Potatoes au gratin

Avoid potatoes like AU gratin. It holds ingredients like breadcrumbs and flour. Instead, consider its gluten-free recipe online. 

When Are Potatoes Not Gluten Free?

For people with celiac disease or who are gluten-sensitive, it is essential to take care and maintain a 100% gluten-free diet.

As stated above, potatoes are naturally gluten-free, but potato recipes and products may contain hidden gluten-filled ingredients. Below are some conditions when potatoes are not gluten-free. 

Cooking Method

Cooking methods are one of the main reasons for gluten contamination. For example, french fries commonly baked are gluten-free. But they are not gluten-free if they are cooked with wheat flour ingredients. The same goes for other fried products.

Ingredient label

If you are prone to gluten intolerance, always check the ingredients label. Whether it must be gluten-free, then always consider reading the ingredient labels. Wheat flour is often used to coat fries, hash browns, or other frozen products.

This gluten-containing wheat flour is used to stop these items from sticking together and to give a golden color. It also helps the spice to mix evenly. Also, the potato recipes labeled as extra crispy contain gluten as they contain wheat flour or wheat starch. 

Ingredients to Use on Potato Recipe

Most people make fries or onion rings with malt vinegar, a common mistake among gluten-sensitive people. Remember, some vinegar may contain gluten grains, like malt vinegar is made from barley.

So, if labels have malt or malt vinegar, you are taking gluten products. Instead, consider rice malt, which is gluten-free.

People with celiac disease and gluten sensitivity should also avoid soy sauce and other seasonings. Instead, consider substitutes like tamari or coconut aminos. 

Bottom Line

So, this is all about the potato's nature. Do not worry. Being gluten-free does not mean sacrificing all the food you love. Cooking your recipes with simple modifications, like substituting gluten-containing ingredients, can not let you sacrifice your favorite food. 

In such a manner, you can include potatoes in your daily diet. If you love to cook at home, mixing with your recipe has endless possibilities. Just remember to mix ingredients like flour or certain sauces that contain gluten.


1. Are potatoes included in the daily diet?

Ans: Of course, potatoes are gluten-free and can be included in your daily diet. However, some potato recipes may contain gluten, so read the ingredients label.

2. Are potato french fries gluten-free?

Ans: French fries are gluten-free if they are cooked with only oil, potatoes, and salt. They have gluten if made using ingredients like wheat, rye, barley, or triticale. So, read the ingredients to ensure that they are gluten-free.

3. Are mashed potatoes gluten free?

Ans: Most mashed potatoes are gluten-free. But if they are mixed with some gravy or sauce, they may become a gluten-containing product. Usually, gravy has wheat flour to make it thicken, making the mashed potatoes gluten product.

4. Are sweet potatoes gluten free?

Ans: They are gluten-free until the potato is mixed with any gravy or sauces. They are naturally gluten-free. Further, it depends on the way they are prepared. If they are deep-fried, they may not be gluten-free.

Read Also:

Oliver Nelson

Oliver Nelson is a New York based Health Specialist Writer who completed his graduation from Syracuse University back in 2015. His writings were published in the top Healthcare brands in the United States.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *